JavaScript is disabled in your browser. Please enable JavaScript or upgrade to a JavaScript-capable browser to properly view this site. Thank you.

Monterey County Office of Education

Leadership, Support and Service to Prepare All Students for Success

Dr. Nancy Kotowski, County Superintendent of Schools

Driver Requirements

BusSchool Bus Driving Essentials

In order to qualify to be a California School Bus Driver,
a person needs to:

  • Be at least 18 years old.
  • Be in good physical condition.
  • Be of good moral character.
  • Have a good driving record.
  • Have a clean criminal record.
  • Have the desire & patience to work with children.

Before you actually become a California School Bus Driver you must:

  • Attend a minimum of 20 hours of classroom instruction.
  • Pass a physical examination (no Epilepsy, Type I Diabetes, or High Blood Pressure).
  • Pass 4 written tests at the DMV.
  • Pass 2 written tests at the CHP.
  • Train a minimum of 20 hours behind-the-wheel.
  • Pass a driving test with the CHP.
  • Pass a pre-employment drug test & finger printing for the district that hires you.

Once you become a California School Bus Driver you must:

  • Be randomly tested for drugs and alcohol.
  • Attend a minimum of 10 hours per year of training.

ACTIONS TAKEN AGAINST YOUR APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATE BY THE DMV:

Convictions & Violations that will Prevent you from Becoming a School Bus Driver:

  • Under the Influence within 3 years: DMV shall deny a certificate
  • Reckless Driving within 3 years: DMV shall deny a certificate
  • Any Sex Crime (Rape, Lewd and Lascivious Conduct, Child Molestation, Prostitution, etc.,) throughout your whole life: DMV shall deny a certificate.
  • Any Offence Relating to the use, sale, possession or transportation of narcotics, habit forming drugs or dangerous drugs, within 7 years: DMV shall deny a certificate.
  • Any Felony within 7 years: DMV shall deny a certificate.
  • Cruelty to Spouse or Child throughout your whole life: DMV shall deny a certificate.
  • Domestic Violence throughout your whole life: DMV shall deny a certificate.
  • Violent Crimes throughout your whole life: DMV shall deny a certificate.
  • Most Assaults within 3 years:DMV shall deny a certificate.
  • Most Assaults within 5 years: DMV shall deny a certificate.
  • Any Crime that Questions your Character (Moral Turpitude) throughout your whole life: DMV may deny a certificate. (most of the time “shall”)
  • Any Violations with a count of two points within 3 years: DMV may deny a certificate.
  • Suspensions within 3 years: DMV may deny a certificate.
  • 3 Accidents within 12 months: DMV may deny a certificate.
  • Within 24 months, Caused or Contributed to the Cause of an Accident Resulting in a Fatality or Serious Injury or Serious Property Damage in Excess of Seven Hundred & Fifty Dollars ($750): DMV may deny a certificate.
  • Has Knowingly Made a False Statement or Concealed a Material Fact on an Application for a Certificate or Endorsement: DMV may deny a certificate.
  • Does Not Meet the Minimum Medical Standards: DMV shall deny or cancel a certificate.
  • Dishonored Check: a fine will be collected, certificate confiscated and denied.
Driver Training Costs:

1st

Call Mission Trails ROP (753-4307) and sign up for the School Bus Driving Class.

$125.00

2nd

Go to the CHP to purchase the handbook 82.7

  • Begin a minimum of 20 hours Classroom at Mission Trails ROP (see schedule)

$5.50

3rd

Go to a doctor and get a DMV physical.

avg. $100.00

4th

Go to DMV

  • Take 4 written tests:
    • General Knowledge
    • Commercial
    • Passenger Transport
    • Airbrakes

This will get you a Commercial DL Instruction Permit

At the conclusion of the class- Go to the DMV get your H-6

$73.00

5th

Go to CHP

  • Take 2 written tests:
    • Rules & Regulations
    • First Aid Practices

$57.00

if waived - $75.00

6th

Complete a minimum of 20 hours Behind the Wheel with the School District that you will be employed by.

 

7th

Go to CHP office for the pre-trip inspection and drive test.

 

8th

Return to DMV to complete your Commercial License process

Total Cost: $435.50

Check with the school district you will work for about reimbursement.

Once you become a California School Bus Driver you must:

  • Be randomly tested for drugs and alcohol.
  • Attend a minimum of 10 hours per year of training.

Contacts

Social Media